LinkedIn’s previous mantra of ”Only connect with those you know”
LinkedIn has long been known as the professional networking site of choice. Now they’ve made a huge change to their People you might know functionality which diverges from the previous mantra of ”Only connect with those you know”. The question is, why? And what’s the impact?
What exactly is the change?
Previously to connect you needed the e-mail or contact details for a person, group affiliation, have worked together, or could request contact through another person. You could also only send one invite at a time. Check out the image below, you can now send contact requests to people en masse without actually knowing them and sort them by organisation affiliation, in this case based on being connected to IHM business school and an invite to 12 people in the list.